Mercurey 1er cru - Clos Marcilly Monopole White

Origin of the name

The word Marcilly comes from the Gallic “march” and the low Latin words mariscus and mariscelleus which mean “marshes, marshy places”. It is one of the 5 first 1 ers crus officially recognized in 1943.

Years of planting

2012 (1.76 ha), 2013 (1.0 ha) and 2014 (0.39 ha)

Nature of soils

deep and clay-limestone.

Culture

Reasoned, with mechanical work of the soil, plowing of which on horseback, without any herbicide

HSG - Mercurey - 1er Cru - Clos Marcilly

Available vintages

Cuvées available

Since the 2018 vintage, when the vintage allows it and deserves it, we have been developing the Cuvée Hermine from our best barrels and our “classic” Clos Marcilly Monopole from the rest of our Chardonnays from this plot.

right-arrow.png

Terroir

Emblematic vine of the Domaine, in monopoly since 2016, it comes from an exceptional plot of Mercurey, among the most prestigious of the appellation, in the Hameau d'Etroyes. The Chardonnays were completely replanted by Patrice du Jeu on a wasteland and after uprooting old vines. Entirely enclosed by walls, this plot of 7.5 ha in total is thus sheltered from the greatest frost. And the presence of a spring allows it not to suffer too much from drought.

Area

4.21 ha = 98.4 worked = 10.4 ac

Altitude

Mercurey 1er cru Clos Marcilly Blanc.png

228 to 240 m

Mercurey 1er cru - Clos Marcilly Monopole Blanc

Origine du nom 

Le mot Marcilly viendrait du gaulois « march » et des mots de basse latinité mariscus et mariscelleus qui signifient « marais, endroits marécageux ». Il s’agit de l’un des 5 premiers 1 ers crus reconnus officiellement en 1943.

Années de plantation

2012 (1,76 ha), 2013 (1,0 ha) et 2014 (0,39 ha)

Nature des sols

profond et argilo-calcaire.

Culture

Raisonnée, avec travail mécanique des sols, labours dont à cheval, sans aucun herbicide

HSG - Mercurey - 1er Cru - Clos Marcilly

Millésimes disponibles

Cuvées disponibles

Depuis le millésime 2018, quand le millésime le permet et le mérite, nous élaborons la Cuvée Hermine issue de nos meilleurs fûts et notre Clos Marcilly Monopole « classique » issu du reste de nos Chardonnay de cette parcelle.

right-arrow.png

Terroir

Vigne emblématique du Domaine, en monopole depuis 2016, il est issu d’une parcelle de Mercurey exceptionnelle, parmi les plus prestigieuses de l’appellation, au Hameau d’Etroyes. Les Chardonnays ont été intégralement replantés par Patrice du Jeu sur une friche et après arrachage de vieilles vignes. Entièrement clos de murs, cette parcelle de 7,5 ha, au total, est ainsi mise à l’abri des plus grands gels. Et la présence d’une source lui permet de ne pas trop souffrir de la sécheresse.

Surface

4,21 ha = 98,4 ouvrées = 10,4 ac

Altitude

Mercurey 1er cru Clos Marcilly Blanc.png

228 à 240 m