BEING A WINEMAKER IS AN HONOR

From the art of serving to the art of producing

« How do you find yourself in Chassagne-Montrachet when you are a restaurateur in Paris? Chance sometimes does things well. Of course, you have to love wine and Burgundy. It's not enough. One day in 2010, I received a phone call from a friend who asked me : 

  • Chassagne, are you interested ?

I answer immediately :

  • Of course, do we have a tasting ?

  • No, it's the vine !

I don't understand right away. Then gradually I understand that there is an opportunity to relaunch an area close to abandonment. The work is enormous, but the climates are of good quality, the opportunity to cultivate a vineyard in Burgundy is unmissable. »

 

Patrice du Jeu, operator of the Héritiers Saint-Genys estate.

The Héritiers Saint-Genys wine estate, located in the heart of the village of Chassagne-Montrachet, produces wines in the pure tradition of Burgundy wines. Patrice du Jeu, respects nature and attaches great importance to gentle, non-interventionist oenology, by vinifying wines as naturally as possible. The vineyards are from Côte de Beaune, Côte Châlonnaise, and also Beaujolais, in the village appellation and 1er cru.

Burgundy is known for its Grands Crus and 1er Crus, but the village and regional appellations hide beautiful nuggets to discover to amaze your taste senses. So come and meet us, with great pleasure we welcome you to the estate in Chassagne-Montrachet for a wine tasting in our beautiful cellars. We are committed to sharing with you the taste of a job well done in the vines and in the cellar, which offers Héritiers Saint-Genys wines subtle aromas and delicate tannins.

Family heritage

At the beginning of 2011, in association with his uncle, Patrice acquired the estate. With his family and traditional heritage, he undertakes to uproot, replant, clean, equip himself, and finally surround himself. In 2013, Jean-Baptiste ALINC, an oenologist by training, joined the estate to support it in this adventure by putting his knowledge, know-how and energy at the service of the estate.

For Patrice, becoming a winegrower is an honor, coupled with a great stroke of luck that he knew how to seize and be worthy of it.

 

“You don't make good wines without good grapes. To have good grapes, you have to give a lot to the vine. She knows how to give it back to us. I love wine from all regions, if it is well done, with love and passion. There are no great wines and little wines for me. Good wine is the one we love. And then wine is also, and above all, a story of sharing and conviviality. An aligoté with friends and a good sausage can often be more pleasant than a grand cru tasted alone. My earliest memories of wine go back to my summer vacation in Burgundy. There was red wine at the table. I am not at all sure that it was of high quality. But we had the right to a small drop in our water worm. Fresh spring water. This reddened water was the best drink. "

 

Many years later, Patrice, his associates and his team are well established in Chassagne-Montrachet near Beaune. Its wines and its know-how are recognized and have won several medals.

Patrice du Jeu Vigneron
vignoble

EXCELLENT WINES

Our philosophy

Le Clos Saint-Jean represents elegance in Patrice's offer, before the year 1000, the village of Chassagne-Montrachet already drew its glory from this Clos Saint Jean, owned by the Benedictine abbey of Saint-Jean-le- Grand d'Autun founded by Brunehaut in 589.

 

In Mercurey, on the "Clos Marcilly", a vast replanting program was launched in 2011. 2014 will be the first vintage of this exceptional cru vinified by the estate, both in red and white. 2016 marked a new stage: Clos Marcilly is now the monopoly of Héritiers Saint-Genys.

 

After the vast restoration program undertaken by Les Héritiers Saint-Genys, the estate has regained its former glory, giving back to its climates the prestige they once enjoyed.

 

The approach is artisanal in order to offer high quality wines. The philosophy is based on the attachment to the terroirs, the respect for the vineyard and the passion for wine. All the wines are aged in the cellars of the estate in the purest Burgundian tradition.

 

The vines are worked in a reasoned way, without any herbicide, by limiting the contributions of phytosanitary products and by privileging the work of the soil. Since 2017, animal traction has been reintroduced for plowing.

 

The winery has been renovated in order to benefit from the best vinification techniques.

 

The estate also relies on a trading structure which enables the range of its wines to be completed by purchasing grapes, musts or wine, as soon as possible so that they are in perfect harmony with its philosophy.

NOTRE

HÉRITAGE

De l'art de servir à l'art de produire

« Comment se retrouve-t-on vigneron à Chassagne-Montrachet lorsque l'on est restaurateur à Paris ? Le hasard fait parfois bien les choses. Il faut bien sûr aimer le vin et la Bourgogne. Cela ne suffit pas. Lorsqu’un jour de 2010, je reçois un coup de fil d'un ami qui me demande : 

  • Chassagne, ça t’intéresse ?

Je réponds immédiatement :

  • Bien sûr, on fait une dégustation ?

  • Non, c'est la vigne !

Je ne comprends pas tout de suite. Puis de fil en aiguille je comprends qu'il y a une opportunité pour remettre à flot un domaine proche de l'abandon. Le travail est énorme, mais les climats sont de qualité, l’opportunité d’exploiter une vigne en Bourgogne est immanquable. »

 

Patrice du Jeu, exploitant du domaine des Héritiers Saint-Genys

L'héritage familial

Début 2011, en association avec son oncle, Patrice acquiert le domaine. Fort de son héritage familial et traditionnel, il entreprend d’arracher, de replanter, de nettoyer, de s'équiper, et finalement de s'entourer. En 2013, Jean-Baptiste ALINC, œnologue de formation, rejoint le domaine pour le soutenir dans cette aventure en mettant au service du domaine ses connaissances, son savoir-faire et son énergie.

Pour Patrice, devenir vigneron est un honneur, doublé d'un sacré coup de chance qu’il a su saisir et en être digne.

 

« On ne fait pas de bons vins, sans bons raisins. Pour avoir du bon raisin, il faut beaucoup donner à la vigne. Elle sait nous le rendre. J'aime le vin de toutes les régions, s'il est bien fait, avec amour et passion. Il n'y a pas pour moi des grands vins et des petits vins. Le bon vin, c'est celui qu'on aime. Et puis le vin c'est aussi, et avant tout une histoire de partage et de convivialité. Un aligoté avec des amis et un bon saucisson peut souvent être plus agréable qu'un grand cru dégusté seul. Mes plus anciens souvenirs du vin remontent à mes vacances d'été en Bourgogne. Il y avait du vin rouge à table. Je ne suis pas sûr du tout qu'il était de grande qualité. Mais on avait le droit à une petite goutte dans notre vers d'eau. Une eau de source bien fraîche. Cette eau rougie était le meilleur des breuvages. »

 

Bien des années après, Patrice, ses associés et son équipe sont bien installés à Chassagne-Montrachet à proximité de Beaune. Ses vins et son savoir-faire sont reconnus et ont été médaillés à plusieurs reprises.

DSC_0130 copie.jpg

NOTRE

PHILOSOPHIE

La poursuite de l'excellence

Le Clos Saint-Jean représente l’élégance dans l’offre de Patrice, avant l'an 1000, le village de Chassagne-Montrachet tirait déjà sa gloire de ce Clos Saint Jean, propriété de l'abbaye bénédictine Saint-Jean-le-Grand d'Autun fondée par Brunehaut en 589.

 

A Mercurey, sur le "Clos Marcilly", est lancé dès 2011 un vaste programme de replantation. 2014 sera le premier millésime de ce cru d’exception vinifié par le domaine, à la fois en rouge et en blanc. 2016 a marqué une nouvelle étape : le Clos Marcilly est désormais le monopole des Héritiers Saint-Genys.

 

Après le vaste programme de remise en état entrepris par Les Héritiers Saint-Genys, le domaine a retrouvé son éclat d’antan redonnant à ses climats le prestige qu’ils ont connu autrefois.

 

L’approche est artisanale afin d’offrir des vins de grande qualité. La philosophie est basée sur l’attachement aux terroirs, le respect de la vigne et la passion du vin. L’ensemble des vins sont élevés dans les caves di domaine dans la plus pure tradition bourguignonne.

 

Les vignes sont travaillées de façon raisonnée, sans aucun herbicide, en limitant les apports de produits phytosanitaires et en privilégiant le travail du sol. Depuis 2017, la traction animale a été réintroduite pour les labours.

 

La cuverie a été rénovée afin de bénéficier des meilleures techniques de vinifications.

 

Le domaine s’appuie également sur une structure de négoce qui permet de compléter la gamme de ses vins par des achats en raisins, moûts ou vin, le plus tôt possible afin qu’ils soient en parfaite adéquation avec sa philosophie. 

NOTRE

PATRIMOINE

La diversification vers le Sud

En 2017, le Domaine de Lathevalle, à Villié-Morgon, rejoint les Héritiers Saint-Genys.

 

Situé dans le secteur très qualitatif des Charmes, le domaine s’étend sur 30 ha autour d’un ensemble immobilier de caractère.

 

La même philosophie y est appliquée avec une viticulture raisonnée sans herbicide et privilégiant le travail du sol. Un très fort attachement aux terroirs nous a poussé à développer des cuvées parcellaires d’exception renouant ainsi avec l’ancienne tradition des grands Morgons de garde.

 

Les cuvées parcellaires sont ainsi transportées à Chassagne-Montrachet pour y être élevées en fûts de Chêne dans les caves des Héritiers Saint-Genys.

 

La rénovation de la cuverie a été initiée dès 2018 la dotant de matériel plus moderne et performant permettant un travail qualitatif indispensable à la réalisation de grands vins du Beaujolais.

DSC_0097 copie.jpg

NOUS CONTACTER

Héritiers Saint-Genys

1 place de l'Eglise - 21990 Chassagne-Montrachet - Côte d'Or - France

contact@saint-genys.fr 

03.80.24.72.63

Domaine de Lathevalle

258 impasse de Lathevalle, 69910 Villié-Morgon - Rhône - France

domainedelathevalle@gmail.com

04.69.37.12.46

  • Blanc LinkedIn Icône
  • Blanc Twitter Icon

© 2020 par Les Héritiers Saint-Genys. Créé par TRYGR.io

  • Blanc LinkedIn Icône
  • Blanc Twitter Icon