right-arrow.png

Domain of Lathevalle

Morgon - The Charms

Note on the 2018 vintage

Despite a rather dry autumn, the tillage carried out for 2 years on the property and the rainy winter have made it possible to regenerate the soil's water reserves a little. The bud burst (emergence of the buds) began in mid-April due to a winter which played the overtime. The hot and stormy spring, for its part, greatly accelerated the development of the vines; the stadiums are linked
very quickly with a start of veraison (beginning of ripening of the berries) around July 24th. The dry and very hot summer allowed the grapes to ripen well, and despite the water deficit, the desired yield of 45 hl / ha was reached. The harvest started on September 5, 2018.

Terroir

Domaine de Lathevalle is located to the west of the hamlet of Morgon, in the southernmost part of the appellation on gently sloping hillsides with a south-eastern exposure. The cuvée "Les Charmes" comes from old vines (50 years on average) planted on sandy soil.
granite which gives the wine this very fruity side.

Winemaking / aging

The harvest is manual and was done in a 20 kg openwork box. A meticulous sorting is carried out in the vineyard in order to provide healthy bunches which are then destemmed and vatted in concrete vats. The vinifications begin with a cold pre-fermentation of a few hours, then, in the full fermentation phase, punching down has been done to extract a maximum of colors and aromas. The process ends with a hot post-fermentation of 4-5 days. Aging in vats for 6 months. Fine filtration before bottling. Bottling took place at the end of April 2019.

SCV Des Pillets_Morgon GD.png

The tasting

With a deep garnet color, on a complex nose of ripe black fruits and spicy notes. A very elegant, delicious and rich palate.

Our consumer advice

Easy to drink wine that will accompany with finesse your grilled meats, as well as your charcuterie and cheese platters. Do not hesitate to drink it with a chocolate dessert! A wonder !

right-arrow.png

Domaine de Lathevalle

Morgon - Les Charmes

Note sur le millésime 2018

Malgré un automne plutôt sec, le travail du sol effectué depuis 2 ans sur la propriété et l’hiver pluvieux ont permis de régénérer un peu les réserves en eau du sol. Le débourrement (sortie des bourgeons) a débuté mi-avril dû à un hiver qui jouait les prolongations. Le printemps chaud et orageux a, quant à lui, fortement accéléré le développement de la vigne; les stades se sont enchainés
très vite avec un début de véraison (début maturation des baies) vers le 24 juillet. L’été sec et très chaud a permis un bon murissement du raisin, et malgré le déficit en eau, le rendement souhaité de 45 hl/ha a été atteint. Les vendanges ont démarré le 5 septembre 2018.

Le terroir

Le Domaine de Lathevalle est situé à l’ouest du hameau de Morgon, dans la partie la plus méridionale de l’appellation sur des coteaux en pente douce avec une exposition Sud-Est. La cuvée « Les Charmes » provient de vieilles vignes (50 ans en moyenne) plantées sur un sol de sables
granitiques ce qui confère au vin ce côté très fruité.

La vinification / élevage

La récolte est manuelle et s’est faite en caissette ajourée de 20 kg. Un tri minutieux est effectué à la vigne afin d’apporter des grappes saines qui sont ensuite égrappées et encuvées dans des cuves béton. Les vinifications commencent par une pré-fermentaire à froid de quelques heures, puis, en pleine phase fermentaire des pigeages ont été fait pour extraire un maximum de couleurs et d’arômes. Le process se termine par une post-fermentaire à chaud de 4-5 jours. Elevage en cuve pendant 6 mois. Filtration fine avant mise en bouteille. La mise en bouteille a eu lieu fin avril 2019.

La dégustation

D’une robe grenat profond, sur un nez complexe de fruits noirs bien murs et de notes épicées. Une bouche très élégante, gourmande et riche.

Notre conseil de consommation

Vin facile à boire qui accompagnera avec finesse vos viandes grillées, ainsi que vos plateaux de charcuterie et de fromages. N’hésitez pas à le boire sur un dessert chocolaté ! Une merveille !

NOUS CONTACTER

Héritiers Saint-Genys

1 place de l'Eglise - 21990 Chassagne-Montrachet - Côte d'Or - France

contact@saint-genys.fr 

03.80.24.72.63

  • Blanc LinkedIn Icône
  • Blanc Twitter Icon

© 2020 par Les Héritiers Saint-Genys. Créé par TRYGR.io

  • Blanc LinkedIn Icône
  • Blanc Twitter Icon